Please observe state park rules so that all park visitors may enjoy their visit. Please note that the following general park rules are not customized for each individual park, so not all rules will apply to all parks (for example, "campsites cannot be held for someone who might arrive later" only applies to parks with campgrounds).
Please report disturbances to park rangers; they are trained to help you resolve issues and concerns.
Things to Remember
Discover Pass: Visitors to state parks must display the Discover Pass on their vehicles when visiting state recreation lands managed by the Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission, the Washington State Department of Natural Resources, and the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife. The fine for not displaying the pass is $99. For information and exemptions, please visit the Discover Pass website.
Park hours vary depending on weather and season. However, all day-use areas close at dusk. Campers may enter parks until 10 p.m.
Campground check-in begins at 2:30 p.m. Check-out is at 1 p.m.
Campsites cannot be held for someone who might arrive later.
Quiet hours are from 10 p.m. to 6:30 a.m., unless otherwise noted at the park. Engine-driven electric generators may be operated only between the hours of 8 a.m. and 9 p.m.
From April 1 through September 30, the maximum length of stay in any one park is 10 days. From October 1 through March 31, the maximum stay is 20 days.
One camping party is allowed per site, with a maximum of eight people per site.
Please use the trash cans and dumpsters to help keep parks clean. Recycling is encouraged in all Washington state Parks. In parks with a pack-it-in/pack-it-out program, visitors must carry out everything they have brought in.
Please do not harm wild plants or animals. Feeding of wildlife is strictly prohibited.
Wildlife, plants and all park buildings, signs and tables and other structures are protected; removal or damage of any kind is prohibited.
Horses are allowed only in designated parks.
Pets are allowed in most state parks, but must be under physical control at all times on a leash no more than eight feet long. Owners are responsible for cleaning up after their pets. Pets are not permitted on designated swimming beaches.
Pets are not allowed inside vacation houses, but are permitted in designated yurts/cabins.
Smoking is not allowed inside vacation houses, yurts, cabins or other rustic structures.
Glass bottles or metal cans are not allowed on swimming beaches.
Alcoholic beverages are permitted only in designated campground and picnic areas.
Fireworks are prohibited on all state public lands, including state parks and beaches that front state park lands.
All Washington state laws are enforced in Washington state parks.
The Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission pre-proposals and proposals are available on the Code Reviser's website.
Following are the agency's annual permanent rule adoptions:
WSR 17-15-082 – Permanent rule WAC 352-32-130 Aircraft prohibited hang gliding in state parks. The Commission amended this rule to allow hang gliders to use state parks, subject to certain conditions and restrictions as those used for paragliders.
WSR 16-24-019 - Permanent rule (WAC 352-48-050) winter recreation funding application for Snowmobile account grants and contracts
WSR 16-10-002 - Permanent peace and quiet rule (WAC 352-32-056) that allows a park ranger discretion in handling noise from any individual campsite.
WSR 16-10-002 - Permanent rule (WAC 352-32-130) adds language to clarify the use of remote controlled aircraft via written permission for the director or designee.
WSR 16-10-002 - Permanent rule (WAC 352-32-200) relating to expulsion from state park areas – changes to allow park ranger discretion in expelling individuals from state parks areas.
WSR 16-10-002 - Permanent rule (WAC 352-32-210) consumption of alcohol in state parks language change prohibits possessing alcoholic beverage, either opened or unopened in areas already established in WAC.
WSR 16-10-002 - Permanent rule (WAC 352-32-250) standard fees charged to allow for a towed vehicle to drive into a park unhitched from the recreational vehicle which is affiliated and not subject to the extra vehicle fee (arrive together).
WSR 15-10-089 - Permanent rules affecting ocean beaches, use of wind/sand sailers
Petition for Adoption, Amendment, or Repeal of a State Administrative Rule
The Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission may have administrative rules that an individual or group wishes to petition the agency to adopt, amend, or repeal. The agency will give consideration to all petitions and respond in 60 days. Please complete the Petition Administrative Rule Form and submit it via email or mail it to:
Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission
1111 Israel Road SW
Olympia, WA 98504