News Flash

News Releases

Posted on: November 6, 2017

17-073 State’s Boating Program encourages hunters to boat safely




Christina Fremont, (360) 902-8837
Toni Droscher, (360) 902-8604

OLYMPIA – Nov. 6, 2017 – With the recent opening of waterfowl and upland game hunting seasons,  Washington State Parks’ Boating Program wants people who hunt from boats to be safe and know the boating laws before they head out on the water.

“Hunting can be an extreme activity,” said Wade Alonzo, Boating Program manager. “Hunters who use boats are often doing so in conditions where disaster can strike quickly, especially in the cold weather. It’s important that hunters prepare for the possibility of changing weather, cold water shock and hypothermia.”

Most hunting and angling takes place on boats less than 16-feet long. Small boats are known for their instability. Recreational boating data from the U.S. Coast Guard and Washington state’s Boating Program show that most drowning victims were using vessels less than 21 feet in length. In addition, the primary causes of boating fatalities are capsizing, falling overboard and swamping.

Safe boating includes having enough life jackets for every person on board. Children age 12 and under are required to wear life jackets at all times on boats shorter than 19 feet. However, the Boating Program advises that everyone, regardless of age, wear a life jacket. Boaters are encouraged to carry communications equipment such  as a cell phone in a waterproof container, a VHF radio and/or personal locator beacon that can be activated in case of an emergency.

Legal boating means displaying current registration decals and numbers and having appropriate navigation lights—in addition to carrying enough life jackets for everyone on board.

Hunters are strongly encouraged to obtain a Washington Boater Education Card. The course offers helpful tips for hunters and provides key information about safety, right-of-way, legal operation and personal responsibility when operating a boat. Anyone between the ages of 12 and 60 and operating a vessel with a 15-horsepower (or greater) motor is required by law to carry a Washington Boater Education Card.

Additional resources for hunters who wish to learn more about boating and hunting safety tips:

Hunters must possess a valid hunter education certificate and hunting license, tags and permits for whatever they are hunting.

For more information about boating prepared, visit 

About the Washington State Boating Program

Washington State Parks administers the state’s Boating Program, which provides leadership in boating safety and environmental education and outreach. The goal of the program is to reduce accidents and fatalities, increase stewardship of Washington waterways, and keep recreational boating a safe, accessible and enjoyable pastime. For more information on the Boating Program, visit: 


About Washington State Parks

The Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission manages more than 100 state parks and properties totaling approximately 120,000 acres. The Commission provides a variety of recreation opportunities for citizens and provides stewardship protection for a diverse array of natural, cultural and historic resources. State Parks’ statewide programs include long-distance trails, boating safety and winter recreation.

Follow Washington State Parks:

Share your favorite state park adventure on the State Parks’ blog site at

Support state parks by purchasing your annual Discover Pass today, and enjoy a whole year of outdoor fun on Washington’s beautiful state-managed recreation lands. For more information, visit

Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission

1111 Israel Road S.W.
P.O. Box 42650
Olympia, WA 98504-2650

Washington Telecommunications Relay Service: (800) 833-6384

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in News Releases

State Parks launches gift cards

Posted on: June 2, 2021

Sno-Park fees to increase this fall

Posted on: March 18, 2021

State Parks Commission to meet next week

Posted on: January 20, 2021

State Parks Commission to meet next week

Posted on: November 10, 2020

Sno-Park permits go on sale Nov. 1

Posted on: October 8, 2020

Next State Parks free day is Oct. 10

Posted on: September 28, 2020

State Parks announces free days for 2021

Posted on: September 22, 2020

State Parks Commission to meet next week

Posted on: September 10, 2020

State Parks prohibits campfires statewide

Posted on: September 8, 2020

Next State Parks free day is Aug. 25

Posted on: August 18, 2020

State parks seek volunteers for 2020

Posted on: December 11, 2019

State Parks announces winter schedule

Posted on: October 21, 2019

Sno-Park permits go on sale Nov. 1

Posted on: October 8, 2019

Sept. 28 is next State Parks free day

Posted on: September 9, 2019

Riverside State Park adds cabins

Posted on: August 20, 2019

State Parks announces free day March 19

Posted on: February 25, 2019

Help improve safety on Willapa Hills Trail

Posted on: November 21, 2018

2019 State Parks Calendar on sale now

Posted on: November 15, 2018

Sno-Park permits go on sale Nov. 1

Posted on: October 30, 2018

State Parks announces 2019 free days

Posted on: October 17, 2018

State Parks announces winter schedule

Posted on: October 8, 2018

History comes alive at Sacajawea State Park

Posted on: September 12, 2018

Celebrate autumn at Lake Sylvia State Park

Posted on: September 4, 2018