News Flash

News Releases

Posted on: July 10, 2018

18-046 Fort Casey celebrates 50th anniversary of ‘Big Guns’ arrival



Media contacts:
 Meryl Lipman, (360) 902-8557
Sharon Young-Hale, (360) 678-1186

Rededication event planned for Saturday, Aug. 11

OLYMPIA – July 10, 2018 – The Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission and Fort Casey Historical State Park invite the public to attend the 50th anniversary celebration of the Big Guns at Fort Casey.

The event will take place at 1:30 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 11, at Fort Casey Historical State Park, 1280 Engle Road, Coupeville. (Driving directions.) The event will include displays and activities, park tours and a keynote address by Rep. Norma Smith, R-Clinton. Visitors also may tour the Admiralty Head Lighthouse and enjoy a picnic or hike at the park on event day. The event is free, though a Discover Pass is required for vehicle access to the park.

Photo of Fort Casey Historical State Park disappearing gunThe guns at Fort Casey have historical significance in that they are the only 10-inch disappearing guns in the United States and two of four left in the world. Disappearing guns, a technological marvel of the late 19th Century, were designed to recoil behind their concrete emplacements after firing. The guns at Fort Casey weigh 125 tons apiece. Fort Casey is one of three late 19th century military forts that made up the so-called “Triangle of Fire” to defend Puget Sound.
The program this summer will follow a similar format to that of the original dedication ceremony, which took place on Aug. 11, 1968. The event will include the presentation of colors, music by the Army National Guard Band, a panel discussion with experts who helped to bring the guns to Fort Casey and demonstrations of the communications tools involved in using the guns. Light refreshments will be provided, and visitors can tour the guns on their own after the event.

The guns were made in the 1890s. They replaced two guns of the same model and vintage, which were used at Fort Casey from 1902 to 1942. The original Fort Casey guns and carriages were scrapped for metal during World War II.

In the late 1950s, after the fort had become a state park, efforts were made to acquire two of the last 10-inch disappearing guns, from Fort Wint on Subic Bay in the Philippine Islands.

The acquisition took a decade to complete and was fraught with financial, political and logistical complications. Ultimately, the Washington State Legislature voted to finance the transfer, which proved perilous when the guns were tossed about the ship San Francisco during a freak storm at sea.

The 1968 ceremony included Gov. Dan Evans, Sen. Henry “Scoop” Jackson, the Coupeville Lions’ Club and military officials and industry captains. During his speech at that dedication, Sen. Jackson called the acquisition, “a story of perseverance.”

About Fort Casey Historical State Park

Fort Casey Historical State Park is a 998-acre camping park on Admiralty Inlet, Whidbey Island. The fort was built in the late 1800s and served as a military training facility through World War II. Soldiers were stationed there from 1899 to 1945. Fort Casey’s big guns were considered the height of technology up to the 1920s, when improvements in warships and the rise of the airplane rendered them obsolete. The fort sits at the northern entrance to Puget Sound and is home to Admiralty Head Lighthouse, a striking 1903 Italianate Revival building that was discontinued in 1922. Fort Casey became a state park in 1955.


About Washington State Parks

The Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission manages more than 100 state parks and properties totaling approximately 120,000 acres. The Commission provides a variety of recreation opportunities for citizens and provides stewardship protection for a diverse array of natural, cultural and historic resources. State Parks’ statewide programs include long-distance trails, boating safety and winter recreation.

Follow Washington State Parks:

Share your favorite state park adventure on the State Parks’ blog site at 

Support state parks by purchasing your annual Discover Pass today, and enjoy a whole year of outdoor fun on Washington’s beautiful state-managed recreation lands. For more information, visit

Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission
1111 Israel Road S.W.
P.O. Box 42650
Olympia, WA 98504-2650

Washington Telecommunications Relay Service: (800) 833-6388

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in News Releases

State Parks launches gift cards

Posted on: June 2, 2021

Sno-Park fees to increase this fall

Posted on: March 18, 2021

State Parks Commission to meet next week

Posted on: January 20, 2021

State Parks Commission to meet next week

Posted on: November 10, 2020

Sno-Park permits go on sale Nov. 1

Posted on: October 8, 2020

Next State Parks free day is Oct. 10

Posted on: September 28, 2020

State Parks announces free days for 2021

Posted on: September 22, 2020

State Parks Commission to meet next week

Posted on: September 10, 2020

State Parks prohibits campfires statewide

Posted on: September 8, 2020

Next State Parks free day is Aug. 25

Posted on: August 18, 2020

State parks seek volunteers for 2020

Posted on: December 11, 2019

State Parks announces winter schedule

Posted on: October 21, 2019

Sno-Park permits go on sale Nov. 1

Posted on: October 8, 2019

Sept. 28 is next State Parks free day

Posted on: September 9, 2019

Riverside State Park adds cabins

Posted on: August 20, 2019

State Parks announces free day March 19

Posted on: February 25, 2019

Help improve safety on Willapa Hills Trail

Posted on: November 21, 2018

2019 State Parks Calendar on sale now

Posted on: November 15, 2018

Sno-Park permits go on sale Nov. 1

Posted on: October 30, 2018

State Parks announces 2019 free days

Posted on: October 17, 2018

State Parks announces winter schedule

Posted on: October 8, 2018

History comes alive at Sacajawea State Park

Posted on: September 12, 2018

Celebrate autumn at Lake Sylvia State Park

Posted on: September 4, 2018