News Flash

News Releases

Posted on: May 8, 2019

State Parks Boating Program promotes National Safe Boating Week May 18 through 24

OLYMPIA – May 8, 2019 – It’s no accident that the National Safe Boating Week campaign coincides with the beginning of boating and fishing seasons. During this year’s campaign, May 18 through 24, the Washington State Parks Boating Program will increase its emphasis on recreational boating safety while encouraging people to have fun on Washington’s beautiful waters.

“Boating safety is important twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week and 365 days a year,” said Rob Sendak, State Parks Boating Program Manager. “But we find that on-the-water accidents and fatalities increase as the weather warms up and more people get out on the water.”

Last year, there were 103 reported boating accidents with 21 fatalities and 57 injuries. Over 70 percent of those accidents happened between May and August. According to Washington’s recreational boating accident data, that trend is reflected in accident data from the last five years.

 “Safe boating begins with preparation,” Sendak added. “Through basic boating safety behaviors, boaters can help keep Washington’s waterways safe for everyone this summer and year-round.”

The Boating Program recommends the following safety tips for boaters.

Get educated
Many recreational boaters in Washington are required to complete an approved boating safety education course and carry a Washington State Boater Education Card. All boaters and paddlers are responsible for knowing the laws and keeping themselves and others safe. Even if carrying a card is not required, the Boating Program recommends people take a boating safety course to increase their knowledge of safety, emergency procedures and navigational rules. More information about boater education: www.boatered.org.

Schedule a vessel safety check
Local marine law enforcement, the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary and United States Power Squadrons have certified vessel examiners who will perform a free “vessel safety check.” These checks are conducted at a boat ramp, dockside or at other pre-determined locations. These checks take 15 to 30 minutes. There is no charge and no consequences for not passing. The agencies will provide a written report on how to correct any discrepancies. Boats passing the safety check receive a decal indicating the boat is in full compliance with federal and state boating laws. Learn more and schedule a vessel safety check by visiting www.cgaux.org/vsc/.

Always wear a life jacket
State law requires all vessels, including canoes, kayaks and stand-up paddleboards to have at least one properly fitted Coast Guard-approved life jacket for each person onboard. All children, age 12 and younger are always required to wear one. The Boating Program encourages boaters to wear their life jackets every time they go out on the water. Life jackets are now much more sophisticated, comfortable and tailored for specific water activities. More about life jackets: www.wearitwashington.org.

Bring communication devices
Boaters should carry two forms of communication that will work when wet, such as a whistle, waterproof cell phone or VHF marine radio. These devices greatly increase the chance of being located in an emergency. Also recommended are flares, a signal mirror and an air horn to aid emergency responders in search efforts. Boaters should also consider carrying a personal locator beacon (PLB), which instantly notifies responders of their location when activated. More on communications devices: http://bit.ly/boat_comm

Avoid alcohol and drugs
Boat owners and/or operators are responsible for the safety and wellbeing of everyone on board. Operating a boat while under the influence of alcohol or drugs, including marijuana, is not only unsafe—it’s illegal. The Boating Program recommends designating a sober skipper. Washington state’s Boating Under the Influence (BUI) law applies to all boats including kayaks, canoes, rowboats and inflatable fishing rafts. More about boating sober: www.boatsober.org.

Check and understand the weather
Boaters should check the weather frequently before and during their boating excursion, keeping an eye on current conditions and forecasts. Boaters should check warnings, weather conditions, wind and wave forecasts and tide and current conditions. It’s also important to understand how each of these elements affects a person’s ability to control their vessel. Boaters should heed any warnings and avoid navigating in those areas. The National Weather Service (NOAA Weather Radio) broadcasts can be found on marine band and standalone weather radios. Learn more: http://bit.ly/boating_wx

Protect against cold-water shock
Falling into water under 60 degrees is dangerous, and many of Washington’s waters remain below 60 degrees all year—including lakes and rivers—even during hot weather. The biggest risk is not hypothermia, it’s cold-water shock, which occurs in the first stage of immersion. Boaters need to take caution and be prepared by always wearing a life jacket. Especially in boats under 21 feet, such as a kayak, rowboat or small fishing boat, which have a higher risk of capsizing. Learn more: https://bit.ly/2Gl9YqN

National Safe Boating Week is coordinated each year by the National Safe Boating Council and its boating safety partners across the U.S. and Canada.

Follow social media 
People can learn more about and participate in the National Safe Boating Week campaign through social media by using some of the following hashtags: #SafeBoating #BoatPrepared #WearItWA #SafePaddling


About the Washington State Boating Program
The Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission administers the state’s Boating Program, which provides leadership in boating safety and environmental education and outreach. The goal of the program is to reduce accidents and fatalities, increase stewardship of Washington waterways, and keep recreational boating a safe, accessible and enjoyable pastime. For more information on the Boating Program, visit www.parks.wa.gov/boating.

News media contacts:

Christina Fremont, (360) 902-8837
Toni Droscher, (360) 902-8604

_________________________________________________________________________________

About Washington State Parks

The Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission manages more than 100 state parks and properties totaling approximately 120,000 acres. The Commission provides a variety of recreation opportunities for citizens and provides stewardship protection for a diverse array of natural, cultural and historic resources. State Parks’ statewide programs include long-distance trails, boating safety and winter recreation.

Follow Washington State Parks:

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in News Releases

Sept. 28 is next State Parks free day

Posted on: September 9, 2019

Riverside State Park adds cabins

Posted on: August 20, 2019

State Parks announces free day March 19

Posted on: February 25, 2019

Check Out Washington to start March 1

Posted on: February 7, 2019

Help improve safety on Willapa Hills Trail

Posted on: November 21, 2018

2019 State Parks Calendar on sale now

Posted on: November 15, 2018

Sno-Park permits go on sale Nov. 1

Posted on: October 30, 2018

State Parks announces 2019 free days

Posted on: October 17, 2018

State Parks announces winter schedule

Posted on: October 8, 2018

History comes alive at Sacajawea State Park

Posted on: September 12, 2018

Celebrate autumn at Lake Sylvia State Park

Posted on: September 4, 2018