News Flash

News Releases

Posted on: July 14, 2014

14-045 Visiting Washington state recreation lands requires a Discover Pass

User fees help keep lands open to the public to enjoy

OLYMPIA – July 14, 2014 – The Washington State Parks and Recreation Commission would like to remind Oregon residents they will need to have a Discover Pass when visiting Washington state parks and other state recreation lands.

An annual Discover Pass costs $30 and may be transferred between two vehicles (one use at a time). A day-use permit costs $10. In state parks, the Discover Pass is required for vehicle access for day visits only. Those paying for overnight accommodations such as campsites, cabins, yurts and vacation houses do not need a Discover Pass. The pass is required for overnight visits to lands managed by the state’s other two recreation providers: Washington State Department of Natural Resources (DNR) and Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW).

“We know that many Oregonians love Washington’s state parks and recreation lands, and we appreciate these visitors and neighbors who come to visit,” said Washington State Parks Director Don Hoch. “Beacon Rock State Park, Cape Disappointment State Park and Yacolt Burn State Forest are two areas we know are very popular with folks from Portland. We want to remind our out-of-state neighbors about the importance of the Discover Pass and how much we depend on use fees to keep these areas open for public enjoyment.”

Revenue from the Discover Pass helps keep Washington’s recreation lands open for the public to enjoy. Prior to 2011, recreation on Washington state lands was funded in large part by revenue from taxes through the state’s General Fund. The Washington State Legislature and Governor created the Discover Pass in 2011 to offset steep reductions in general tax support for the three agencies.

The Discover Pass provides visitors with access to millions of acres of Washington state recreation lands, including:

Visitors have several options for purchasing a Discover Pass:

Visitors who don’t display a Discover Pass are subject to a $99 citation.

For more information about the Discover Pass, visit


Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in News Releases

State Parks Commission to meet next week

Posted on: September 10, 2020

State Parks prohibits campfires statewide

Posted on: September 8, 2020

Next State Parks free day is Aug. 25

Posted on: August 18, 2020

State parks seek volunteers for 2020

Posted on: December 11, 2019

State Parks announces winter schedule

Posted on: October 21, 2019

Sno-Park permits go on sale Nov. 1

Posted on: October 8, 2019

Sept. 28 is next State Parks free day

Posted on: September 9, 2019

Riverside State Park adds cabins

Posted on: August 20, 2019

State Parks announces free day March 19

Posted on: February 25, 2019

Help improve safety on Willapa Hills Trail

Posted on: November 21, 2018

2019 State Parks Calendar on sale now

Posted on: November 15, 2018

Sno-Park permits go on sale Nov. 1

Posted on: October 30, 2018

State Parks announces 2019 free days

Posted on: October 17, 2018

State Parks announces winter schedule

Posted on: October 8, 2018

History comes alive at Sacajawea State Park

Posted on: September 12, 2018

Celebrate autumn at Lake Sylvia State Park

Posted on: September 4, 2018